An Asian Salad and a Stuffed Pepper Walk into a Bar…

…Or better yet, into my stomach!!! Today for breakfast I had a chocolate greek yogurt, with granola and peanuts mixed in

I had some almonds for my snack – they are my newest favorite snack-y food! I used to hateee almonds, but now I love them. Funny what happens when you actually give things a chance, huh?

For lunch I had one of my favorite go-tos – an asian inspired salad! We have a restaurant here called Designer Greens, and I stole this salad idea from them, with some slight modifications! It’s a base of spinach with green peppers, snap peas, onions, carrots, and scallions, with peanut dressing. My favorite part? Tossing a ton of peanuts on top – they add an awesome crunch and even more peanut-y flavor to this salad – which I love!

the stolen salad!

hot hot hot!

The peanut dressing that I used was actually TOO hot for my liking! And I can handle some pretty spicy stuff! I defintely had a runny nose after eating this bad boy!

I had an applesauce with cinnamon for a snack to hold me over until my fantastic stuffed pepper dinner!

After taking the seeds out of the pepper, I coated it with olive oil and some ground black pepper and baked it in the oven for 15 minutes on 400 degrees. While it was baking, I prepped the filling – quinoa, spinach, onions, green pepper, and feta. I cooked the quinoa, mixed in the veggies, and stuffed it in the pepper. I also sprinkled some mexican-blend cheese on top, and put some tomato sauce in the bottom of the pan. I then cooked it for 20 more minutes, until the pepper was soft. It turned out FABULOUS and tasted delicious!

I also had pork in the freezer from my pre-vegetarian days, so I decided to make it for my friend Shiv and my roommate Ang. I coated the pork in brown sugar, montreal steak seasoning and garlic, and cooked it partially in the grill pan and partially in the oven. The pork was served with roasted broccoli and quinoa.

Shiv with her meal!

Both dinners were a big success! Nothing better than good food with good friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

