Interval Training

Yes, I am talking about intervals…again! Given my recent love affair with them, I decided I was going to try my gym’s “Interval Training” class. Despite wanting to take a nap, I hauled my butt over there at 5:30. The instructor says, “Oh, we only do this about once a month, but we’re going outside today!” Which made me afraid! Anything in the group fitness room I can handle, but outside is a whole different ball game! It ended up being a challenging class to say the least! But I absolutely got in a great workout! During the hour long class, some things we did included:

  • sprints up a HUGE incline/loop thing in the stadium
  • running backwards up that huge incline/loop
  • burpees
  • mountain climbers
  • push ups
  • planks
  • bear crawls
  • toe touches
  • wall sits
  • squat jumps
  • lunges

That is all I can recall at the moment, but whew! ROUGH!

THEN we proceeded to do stadiums…which included doing 20 tricep dips at the bottom of the stadium, and then running up all 90 rows of bleachers. Talk about exhausting! We did that a few times before FINALLY taking a lap around the field and stretching it out. This class was definitely reminiscent of my high school volleyball conditioning days! It was a challenge, and I think I’ll be going back (if I’m brave enough)

I definitely felt like I earned my dinner tonight! I was starving by the time we got to BJ’s, and inhaled my mini spinach artichoke pizza. It was goooood (I think). I also had a few wedge fries off of Meghan’s plate, and a bite of pazookie (BJ’s signature dessert – this thing is DEADLY good)

Now I am SUPER tired, and am looking forward to hopping into my big fluffy bed! Nightttt!

Leave a Reply

