Egg-sellent Lasagna!

Maybe to make it up to me for yesterday’s yucky weather, Savannah was GORGEOUS today! Around 9:00, my mom and I went for a walk. She had found some trails around the YMCA that is right across the street from their apartment, so we headed over there. The trail was basically a one mile loop through some forest-y areas, and it definitely beat walking along a street or in a neighborhood! We walked the loop twice, then headed home. For breakfast I had a cup of coffee and a green smoothie. I don’t have my protein powder with me, so this one included 2 large handfuls of spinach, about a cup of almond milk, 8 frozen strawberries, a splash of vanilla extract, and half a cup of plain Greek yogurt. Although it wasn’t quite as delicious as my typical green smoothie, it was still cool and refreshing.

 

Looking at houses was on today’s agenda, so after breakfast my parents and I loaded into the car. We drove around to some different areas around Savannah so they could get a feel for them, and decide which area they want to buy a house in. I snacked on a Nature’s Valley Almond bar in the car, which was really tasty! Around 2:30 we stopped for lunch at a little place called Tortuga’s. We actually ate there over the summer, and decided to pay a return visit! I got the veggie Panini, which ended up being fantastic! The bread was the star of the show – it was a garlic herb foccacia, and was delicious. On the Panini there were roasted red peppers, caramelized onions, spinach, and melted monteray Jack cheese. I also got a side of fries, and ended up eating everything! Thankfully, the portions were reasonable, so I didn’t leave feeling overly stuffed.

For dinner I decided to make eggplant lasagna! I didn’t really follow a recipe, but it turned out great! First I peeled the eggplant, and sliced it into 1/2 inch pieces.  Then I salted the slices, let them sit for about 15 minutes, and then rinsed them in a colander.

chillin' in the colander

After I rinsed the slices, I tossed them in olive oil, and sprinkled some ground black pepper on them before popping them in the oven. (450 degrees, 20ish minutes)

While they were cooking, I made a cheese mix, which had a container of ricotta (2ish cups?), one cup of mozzarella, and a generous sprinkling of parsley and oregano.

 
Next up was the cauliflower – I tossed it in olive oil, sprinkled it with salt, pepper, and a little garlic/herb seasoning, and then roasted it at 450 degrees for 20ish minutes.

roasted cauliflower

The final step was layering the eggplant, sauce, and cheese. I put a layer of sauce on the bottom of the pan, followed by a layer of eggplant, and then a layer of cheese. Then I repeated it! I topped it off with the remainer of the sauce, and another cup of mozzarella. Then I covered it with aluminum foil, and popped it in the oven (350 degrees, 20 minutes).

my goofy dad with the final product!

Dad really wanted to jump in this picture, so I was kind enough to let him 😛

Dinner was delicious! I am a HUGE fan of any veggie roasted, and the eggplant lasagna was a definite winner!

Leave a Reply

