Savannah Bound!

Today was spent in the car, makin’ the 3.5ish hour drive to the lovely Savannah, Georgia! My parents moved here at the beginning of the year, and I hadn’t been up to see them yet. For breakfast, I tried my new lemon flavored Chobani greek yogurt, topped with blueberries. To be honest, I am not a huge fan of this flavor, and don’t plan on buying it again. It was SUPER lemon-y, and sour – a little too much for me. I also had a cup of Chai tea.

 

blueberries

too tart!

While driving, I snacked on some peanuts, a sugar cookie (thanks Ang!) and some peppermints. After dropping by my dad’s office to say hello, my mom and I headed to my favorite place…the grocery store! Publix, where shopping really IS a pleasure! 😛 The plan is for me to cook a few nights while I’m here, so we had to stock up on ingredients! Among my new victims were spaghetti squash, eggplant, and cauliflower – I’m excited to use them all!

After shopping, we came back to the temporary apartment, and I decided to hit up the fitness center. It was…lacking, to say the least. There were two treadmills, an “elliptical” (if you could even call it that – it was OLD and strange), two bikes, and about three weight machines. There were NO free weights to be found! Boooo. All of the machines were just old, and definitely not what I am used to. I did 5 minutes on the “elliptical”, 15 minutes of running intervals on the treadmill, a cardio blast from my total body class, some of the weight machines, planks, and finished up with ten minutes of walking on the highest incline the treadmill had (it said 12, but it really seemed like MAYBE a 4….at best). Yikes. I didn’t realize how truly dependent I’ve become on my gym with cardio machines from this century, and those handy group fitness classes. At least I got my sweat on for a bit, and that’s all that matters!

For dinner, I tackled…the spaghetti squash! I have been wanting to try it for a while, and tonight seemed like the perfect time for my experiment! I microwaved the squash for 5 minutes first, to make it easier to cut (note: that sucker was still a PAIN to cut!). I then sliced it in half, scooped out the seeds, and put it face down on a baking sheet. The oven was preheated to 400 degrees, and I cooked the squash for roughly 30 minutes. While the squash was cooking, I also threw some broccoli (tossed with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic/herb seasoning) in the oven to roast.

spaghetti squash

after scoopin' out the seeds

massive bowl of "noodles"

My arm got tired forking out the “noodles” – there were a LOT of them to say the least! Look at this HUGE bowl full:

chopped veggies

I put my “noodles” into a bowl topped with the roasted broccoli, and chopped peppers, onion, carrots, and spinach. I topped it off with spaghetti sauce, a dollop of ricotta, and some parmesan. My mom put her broccoli on the side, and her plate looked much nicer than my throw-everything-in-it bowl:

Mom's pretty plate

My messy bowl!

Oh well! We both thought it was a good dinner! I wasn’t sure how I would feel about the spaghetti squash (I am SO not a squash person) – but I ended up really enjoying it, and would definitely make it again. Plus, I there is leftover squash coming out of my ears, so I’ll probably be eating it for lunch and/or dinner (and/or breakfast?) for the next few days. Overall my first “cooking in Savannah” experiment was a success!

Tomorrow I have an interview for a summer internship that is here in Savannah, which I’m pretty excited about! The thing I’m most excited for though? Going to Paul Deen’s legendary restaurant, The Lady and Sons, afterwards with my mom! My stomach is already grumbling just thinking about it! That Paul Deen knows how to make a mean meal!

Leave a Reply

