Kite Festival

The Kite Festival was a great success! The weather was absolutely PERFECT, and there were SO many people out! Zilker park is big, and really nice. I was so happy just to be outside, and it was a prime place for people-watching! We saw a man with a snake, a lady with a pig, and a MILLION dogs! (Ok, maybe not a million, but seriously…everyoneee had a dog!) We walked around the park for a while, and then decided to split a classic festival food – the funnel cake!

Victoria & me 🙂

nom nom nom!

That sucker was SO good! But I mean, fried dough and powdered sugar – comeon! Of course it’s good!

I took this picture when a bunch of the kites were in the air – I love the big butterfly one that snuck into the front, and how the city of Austin is in the background.

Austin + kites = wonderful!

As you can see, it was super crowded! There was also a Chobani truck there giving out free yogurts! You know I was excited for that! 🙂 I got a mango, which the guy said was a brand new flavor! It was really good – I approve! 😛 Victoria doesn’t like yogurt, but got the raspberry flavor for me, so I brought it home to try later.

free Chobani ❤

After walking around the park for a while, we went down to an area with water, where people bring their dogs to play. It was so fun watching the dogs run around in the water. They are always so happy!

can you spot all the doggies?

I didn’t manage to make it to the gym today, but did do A LOT of walking. On the way home, I grabbed another skinny vanilla latte from Starbucks. Tonight I think I’m having leftovers for dinner…when I got to Austin on Friday, we went to a place called Kerbey Lane for dinner. I absolutely loved it! They had a lot of vegetarian options, and make all their food with local produce, which is really cool! I got the SoLa enchiladas:

SoLa Enchiladas – Two enchiladas stuffed with portobello mushroom, red bell peppers, caramelized red onions, spinach and cheddarjack cheese topped with your choice of sauce.  Served with black beans and Mexican rice.”

But instead of black beans, I got guac on the side. It was delicious, and I will be eating the leftovers tonight!

Other food highlights include the pad thai I had from a vendor on South Congress Street yesterday for lunch, and my Vegetarian Combo plate from a Mexican restaurant called Trudy’s last night. I am not used to eating out this much, but I’m trying to keep my portions in check, and order somewhat healthy things.

I’m off to hang out with Victoria! Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend – I know I have! 🙂

2 Responses

  1. I cannot believe you got your hands on the new mango flavor! I have been to 5 different stores in my area and haven’t found the new flavors yet! So jealous! 🙂

Leave a Reply

