Pasta, Pazookies, Planes, & Piercings!

Whew that sure is a lot of P’s! Sorry I have been M.I.A.! It’s been a hectic couple of days, but I am once again back up at school. I am semi-bummed since NO ONE is here yet, and I don’t have class until Tuesday. This does mean that I have a LOT of free time on my hands though! I am going to attempt to write at least a portion of my 10 page paper, however, I forsee a lot of movie watching and reading for fun in my near future.

BJ’s

As I said a while ago, I went to BJ’s for my final dinner in Austin! It was just me, Victoria, and her boyfriend Troy, and we had a good time. I was definitely an uncomfortable full by the end of the night though! I ordered the fried artichokes as an appetizer, which were really good! However, they didn’t taste all that “artichoke-y” – mainly they just tasted fried. For my entree I ordered the Angel Hair Toscana:

“Our delicate angel hair pasta tossed with olive oil, garlic, sun-dried tomatoes, fire-roasted red peppers, fresh basil, feta cheese, pine nuts, Roma tomatoes topped with fresh Parmesan cheese and parsley.”

Angel Hair Toscana

Angel Hair Toscana + Me! Quite the happy pair

Dinner was veryyyy good, except I was slightly disappointed that the “sundried” tomatoes ended up being just regular tomatoes. Oh well, life goes on! 😛

Victoria ordered one of the flatbread pizzas, which also looked delicious! I would have snagged a bite, but there was chicken on it, so this vegetarian passed.

Victoria and her flatbread

For dessert, we ordered the Pazookie Trio, with a Chocolate Chunk, a cookies and cream, and a triple chocolate pazookie.

Pazookie overload!

They were all DEEEEEEEEEELICIOUS, but  my favorite is still the chocolate chunk – you can’t argue with a classic!

Eating an appetizer, entree, AND dessert is something I almost never do so I wasn’t surprised by how insanely full I was by the end of the night. It was worth it though!

Planes

Wednesday I had to fly back to Orlando, via Chicago. (Crazy, I know) My flight wasn’t until 3:35, so I had another full morning in Austin! Victoria had received a coupon for a free Einstein’s coffee, and since neither Victoria or Troy drink coffee, it was mine! I started off my morning with my free cup of coffee, which quickly turned into THREE free cups when I discovered it was “bottomless” (aka you could refill) I sat on the sunny porch of the coffee shop drinkin’ my free vanilla coffee, chatting with my aunt on the phone, and reading my book. It was a really lovely way to start the day. Once Victoria finished class, we went back to the apartment and I packed up all my stuff. We had a couple of hours to kill before my flight, so we decided to go to Half Price Books!

Half Price Books is one of my very favorite stores in the whole world! I am a HUGE book lover, and my mom and I used to frequent Half Price Books quite often when we lived in Texas. They have a HUGE selection and it’s all sold at a tremendous discount! (Hence the name) They will also buy books from you, which I have always thought was awesome. Anyway, I was beyond pumped to visit the Austin store! I wound up getting 3 of the 4 books in the series A Song of Ice and Fire. My brother, who is not a big reader, has been RAVING about these books, so I thought I’d give them a try. I also got a Jodi Picoult book, called Vanishing Acts. I read about 3/4 of it on my plane ride, and it’s pretty intriguing! Total cost for my 4 purchases? 15 bucks! You really can’t beat that! I picked up the other book in the Song of Ice and Fire series at Barnes and Noble today, and can’t wait to start reading them ASAP!

My flight back to Orlando was good – fairly uneventful, minus a few bouts of turbulance on the second leg of the trip.  Apparently there was a HUGE storm going on right where I was flying, which I was totally oblivious about. It’s pretty better that way though! Ignorance is bliss, right?

Piercings

Yesterday I was back in Orlando after my long day of travel on Wednesday. Steph and I went for an easy 3 mile run/walk in her neighborhood to start off the day.

After showering, we decided we wanted to go get an ear piercing! I already have my first and second holes, as well as my cartilage, so I chose to get it about half way up my left earlobe:

lookin' goofy trying to show off our new bling

Steph ended up getting hers in the same location, and we had a heck of a time trying to take a picture of our new earrings! Haha. Post-piercing, we went to dinner at Macaroni Grill, where I ordered the create your own pasta with whole wheat penne, sundried tomatoes, broccoli, spinach, and garlic, with the creamy garlic sauce. It was SO GOOD!

To end the night, we went bowling with some friends, and then hung out at a friend’s house afterwards. It was quite the fun last day in Orlando!

Today

Presently, I am FINALLY back in my own room! I feel like I’ve been away for ages! I’m a little sad that my travels are over, but I’m also semi looking forward to getting back into my normal routine! Sorry for this EPIC post! I should be back to posting regularly now that I’m back! Happy Friday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

