7 Grain Muffins

Goooood morning afternoon! I was actually up at a reasonable hour today because I had a 10:00 am phone interview. I enjoyed a cup of chai tea while prepping for the phone call, which ended up going very well! 🙂

I wasn’t too hungry yet, and I was bored…so I decided to bake my breakfast! My inspiration was my new Bob’s Red Mill 7 Grain cereal. I bought it on my last shopping trip, and was dying to use it, but wasn’t in the mood for hot cereal. There happened to be a nice little recipe on the side for muffins, which I modified a bit.

7 grain goodness

After mixing the ingredients, I had a nice thick batter:

thick, oat-y batter

I poured the batter into muffin tins, and ended up making 18 pretty large muffins! The result was my muffin army:

army of muffins!

close up

They turned out so well! I enjoyed one for breakfast, with a sliced kiwi on the side. Very filling, very delicious! After letting my roommates sample a few, I froze the remaining muffins.

I had to run some errands this morning, one of which was getting my passport picture taken! I’m so excited to FINALLY be getting my passport. Woohoo!

When I got home I had a few pretzels dipped in roasted garlic hummus, which we are kind of fans of in my house:

hummus overkill

Haha. You can never have too much hummus, apparently! Now I’m off to total body! Can’t wait for those endorphins to kick in today! 🙂

7 Grain Muffin Recipe

  • 2 cups quick cooking rolled oats
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup Bob’s Red Mill 7 Grain cereal
  • 2 tbsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 and 1/2 cups of milk
  • 1/2 cup cooking oil
  • 1/4 cup honey

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine all ingredients and stir until batter forms (will be slightly lumpy). Put into muffin tins, and bake for about 15 minutes, or until done. TA-DA!

4 Responses

  1. Your muffins look fabulous!!!! I love Bob’s Red Mill’s products!

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    • Thanks!! They turned out good – and the roommates approved as well!! I’m loving the 7 grain cereal!

  2. […] night in anticipation of my late-night carb cravings, I left a member of my muffin army on the counter to defrost before I went out. This strategy totally worked out for me. When I arrived […]

  3. […] huge fan. I’ll probably be incorporating the 7 grain cereal into my diet in different ways. (Muffin army, […]

Leave a Reply

