Brown Rice Salad

Today’s recipe is one of my very favorites! It doesn’t even require cooking, so you know it’s e-a-s-y!

This tasty concoction is called brown rice salad. My sister actually came up with the recipe, and it has made its way around to all of the women in my family. Everyone we make it for seems to be a big fan, so I think it’s a winner!

You can really add whatever you have on hand to the brown rice salad, but here is my standard recipe:

Cook 4 servings of instant brown rice (2 cups dry). Let the rice cool. Add vegetables, nuts, cheese, and mix everything together! Done-zo!

Okay, I am a horrrrrible recipe writer. I guess I won’t be publishing that cook book anytime soon. 😉 To be more specific, the ingredients I added to the brown rice were:

  • finely chopped green and yellow pepper
  • finely chopped cucumber
  • matchstick carrots
  • chopped pecans
  • chopped walnuts
  • chopped almonds
  • sunflower seeds
  • crumbled feta cheese

That’s it! Just mix all of that into your brown rice and refrigerate. You can eat it plain, or add the dressing of your choice to it. Popular choices include goddess dressing, ranch, and italian!

I'm nuts for nuts! 😛

chopped veggies

alllll together!

brown rice with some flair

So there you have it, my very complicated, very secret family recipe! 😉 Seriously though, this stuff is delicious, and pretty darn healthy too!

Book update

I am about to go read my book until I can’t keep my little eyes open anymore! I’m finally getting excited to go read it, which is a relief. I really don’t like when I first start a new book – it always takes me a while to get into it, become invested in the characters, etc. So if you plan to read A Game of Thrones, give it until at least page 60 to get into it. 🙂 Night!

One Response

  1. that salad sounds delicious! i love family recipes!

Leave a Reply

