Oh hey Savannah

Well, I made it to Savannah! My parents and I made the drive yesterday after packing up a bunch of my stuff. By the time we made it to their apartment (they STILL have not found a house!) I was pretty famished. After a quick scan of the fridge,  I decided on a simple combo of a light English muffin, peanut butter, apple, and cinnamon.

GALS 360

I enjoyed the rest of the apple on the side. I spent most of last night reading my book, and settling in – it was an early night!

Today

Today was full of excitement! Drumroll please…I got new running shoes! WOOHOO! I have been in desperate need of them for quite some time now. I went to a running store here in Savannah called Fleet Feet, and was fitted for my shoes. This is actually the first time I have been fitted, and I think it is so worth it! The guy watched me run on the treadmill as well as outside, and picked out shoes for me based  on how my foot fell. He said I didn’t have much pronation – apparently my foot is neutral, and he said that means I’m a natural runner! Winking smile I don’t know about all that, but it was fun to hear!

After testing out a few pairs of shoes, including Saucony and Asics, I decided on the Nike Zoom Structure 14. The thing that really sold me was how light they felt on my feet – compared to these shoes, all of the other ones felt like major clunkers!

GALS 367GALS 368GALS 369GALS 370

I went on a short run when I got home to test ‘em out! I love them already! My run certainly didn’t make me feel like a natural runner – I was huffing and puffing through two miles. I would like to blame the fact that I have not worked out in an ENTIRE week! GAH! These babies are just the motivation I need to start pounding the pavement again. Hopefully having properly fitted shoes will solve my shin splint woes! Cross your fingers!

My other new running buddy is feeling left out…meet my new iPod sleeve!

GALS 365

My wonderful roommate Ang got me this for my birthday! My birthday isn’t until July, but she felt bad that I always get gipped out of birthday presents from college friends since I have a summer birthday. Winking smile Thanks Ang!!!

After the running store, my mom and I hit up the good old grocery store! I was pumped to finally grocery shop again, and reintroduce fresh produce to my life. The last few weeks at school were grocery shopping-less, which killed me!

Tonight I’m making my favorite pesto pizza for my parents, and I plan to roast some cauliflower on the side as well! Recipe to come in a future post.

For now I will leave you with some just-recovered pictures from my last trip to Savannah, when my parents and I visited Tybee Island for the day!

IMG_0094IMG_0100IMG_0099

SO PRETTY! I loveee the beach, and plan on hittin’ up Tybee for a day or two before I depart from Savannah!

Were you fitted for your running shoes, or did you pick them out yourself?

 

Leave a Reply

